Our Work

>
Dual training for young people in Nairobi
RDS-SDG-2
RDS-SDG-3
RDS-SDG-4
RDS-SDG-5
RDS-SDG-6
RDS-SDG-7
RDS-SDG-8
RDS-SDG-9
RDS-SDG-10
RDS-SDG-11
RDS-SDG-12
RDS-SDG-13
RDS-SDG-14
RDS-SDG-15
RDS-SDG-16
ODS 17.

Extension of the dual training system to the informal sector in Kenya

Auszubildende von ECT in Kenia

Direct Beneficiaries

1.030

Indirect Beneficiaries

6.000

Project
duration

2021-2023

Required donations

21.900

Project goal

With this project, our partner Strathmore Educational Trust through their institution Eastlands Col-lege of Technology (ECT) is working together with two co-partners St. Kizito VTI and Imani Marianist. The aim is to recruit small businesses from the Jua Kali (“under the sun”) sector as trainers for the dual training system. Participants are prepared in the best possible way for the labor market and the working reality in this sector.

Jua Kali sector: Nairobi’s largest employer

Nairobi is the capital and economic engine of Kenya. Many of the city’s 4.47 million inhabitants are young people living in poverty without receiving school education or vocational training. As a conse-quence, many have found only informal employment and apprenticeships in the Jua Kali sector. In 2019, the informal sector employed more than 15 million Kenyans, about five times more than the formal sector.

Businesses from the Jua Kali sector become apprenticeship providers

The project aims to harness the potential of the Jua Kali sector. In cooperation with training centers, companies from the formal and informal sectors, and representatives of the regulatory authorities, a qualitative training program for trainers will be developed and piloted for Jua Kali micro businesses. This will involve the small enterprises taking on trainees and passing on their knowledge.

Our local partner

Strathmore Educational Trust has been implementing projects to promote education and alleviate poverty and hardship in Kenya since 1986. In addition to the ECT, also Strathmore School and Strathmore University are part of the organization. Co-partners in this project are St. Kizito VTI and Imani Marianist, both of which run educational centers for needy youth from the slums of Nairobi.

Impressions of the project

Your donation has the power

30
€/mo
will let an indigenous woman receive a qualified education
20
€/mo
will bring food to the tables of 5 families in rural areas of Guatemala
30
€/mo
will provide basic health care to children in remote communities

Duale Ausbildung für junge Menschen in Nairobi
RDS-SDG-2
RDS-SDG-3
RDS-SDG-4
RDS-SDG-5
RDS-SDG-6
RDS-SDG-7
RDS-SDG-8
RDS-SDG-9
RDS-SDG-10
RDS-SDG-11
RDS-SDG-12
RDS-SDG-13
RDS-SDG-14
RDS-SDG-15
RDS-SDG-16
ODS 17.

Ausdehnung des dualen Ausbildungssystems auf dem informellen Sektor in Kenia

Auszubildende von ECT in Kenia

Direkte Begünstigte

1.030

Indirekte Begünstigte

6.000

Projektdauer

2021-2023

Bedarf

21.900

Projektziel

Mit dem vorliegenden Projekt arbeitet unser Partner Strathmore Educational Trust durch ihre Institution Eastlands College of Technology (ECT) gemeinsam mit St. Kizito VTI und Imani Marianist zusammen. Ziel ist es Kleinunternehmen aus dem Jua Kali- Sektor als Ausbilder und Ausbilderinnen für das duale Ausbildungssystem zu gewinnen. Dadurch sollen die Teilnehmenden bestmöglich auf den Arbeitsmarkt und die Arbeitsrealität in diesem Sektor vorbereitet werden.

Jua Kali-Sektor: der größte Arbeitgeber Nairobis

Nairobi ist Hauptstadt und wirtschaftlicher Motor Kenias. Viele der 4,47 Mio. Stadtbewohner sind in Armut lebende junge Menschen ohne schulische oder berufliche Bildung, die im Jua Kali-Sektor („unter der Sonne“) nur eine informelle Arbeits- und Lehrstelle gefunden haben. Im Jahr 2019 beschäftigte der informelle Sektor mehr als 15 Millionen Kenianer, etwa fünfmal mehr als der formelle Sektor.

Aus Jua Kali-Unternehmen werden Ausbildungsbetriebe

Durch das Projekt soll das Potenzial des Jua Kali-Sektors genutzt werden. In Zusammenarbeit mit Ausbildungszentren, Unternehmen aus dem formellen und informellen Sektor sowie Vertretern der Regulierungsbehörden soll ein qualitatives Ausbildungsprogramm für Ausbilder und Ausbilderinnen (Master Trainer) für Jua Kali-Kleinunternehmen entwickelt und pilotiert werden. Die Kleinunternehmen sollen dabei Auszubildende aufnehmen und ihre Kenntnisse weitergeben.

Unser Partner vor Ort

Strathmore Educational Trust führt seit 1986 Projekte zur Förderung der Bildung und zur Linderung von Armut und Not in Kenia durch. Neben dem ECT gehören auch Strathmore School und Strathmore University dazu. Co-Partner dieses Projektes sind St. Kizito VTI und Imani Marianist, die beide Ausbildungszentren für bedürftige Jugendliche aus den Slums Nairobis betreiben.

Eindrücke aus dem Projekt

Ihre Spende hat die Kraft

30
€/mo
wird einer indigenen Frau eine qualifizierte Ausbildung ermöglichen
20
€/mo
wird Essen auf den Tisch von 5 Familien in ländlichen Gebieten Guatemalas bringen
30
€/mo
wird Kindern in abgelegenen Gemeinden eine grundlegende Gesundheitsversorgung bieten